Republican Values? Or American values?

Thought that might get your attention. The message coming out of the ruling party’s camp in recent days has been that we should all be dismissive of the individuals that spoke at the Republican Convention. Think about that for a moment. What is it exactly that is so “bad” about all these people?

• That they are “successful”?
• That they are articulate?
• That they seem to be caring and involved?
• That they are daughters and sons of immigrants – some first or second generation?
• That they had strong supportive words for family and the family members that positively influenced them?
• That they are fiscally responsible and in case after case, righted budget deficits. Many times without raising taxes?
• That they are polite?
• That most, perhaps all, have a religious affiliation?
• Many were businessmen and women, or were sons and daughters of entrepreneurs?
• That the messages they received from family and mentors when growing up was one of hope, dreams, drive and accomplishment?
• That they have held jobs and earned incomes?
• A positive attitude that we can make things better?
• That many were minorities?

Am I missing something here? These would seem to me to be qualities to emulated, not to be embarrassed of, right? I mean really, who among you thinks, “You know, I really hope my child doesn’t have any economic success when they grow up?” Or perhaps, “I hope my child grows up to be a self- centered jerk and I sure hope they are rude. And, wow, that whole optimism thing really gets on my nerves, you know? Actually, I hope they never have job – I mean really, the dream is to have someone give you the money. You know, someone who actually cares about us?”

For three days, I heard people relate positive vision, inspirational stories. Not how “someone” is trying to keep you down. I heard intelligent young people telling me how they took action to make things better in states and districts where they come from. I heard about people who came from humble backgrounds and through the efforts of grandparents and parents and family made their way to success and that wanted something more for their children and were willing to work for it. Not the language of hate and division. I heard stories of people that were not defined by race, gender religion or social class, but by the visions they had and the passion in their heart to achieve.

I surely can’t imagine the Democrats they would have issues with the fact that many speakers were of a differing ethnicity or female, right? I would hope the fact that it was a diverse group would be uplifting to everyone. Where else in the world could we see something like that?

Or is the issue simply that they are all Republican? Ok, stop hooting and hollering here. The point isn’t that they are Republicans. The point is Republican or Democrat is simply a political viewpoint. The point is that if you do accept all those qualities I listed at the beginning of this discussion – success, caring, responsible, and so on – as “positive”, and further, if you accept that those are qualities we would hope to see in our children, then really the only thing that is “bad” about this individuals, is that they are “Republican”. So does the sum of whether you are a good or a bad person, whether you lie or tell the truth, comes down not to content, not to the “body of work” of your life, but simply, which political party you belong to?

A number of news sites and political wonks have denigrated the group of individuals that participated in the Republican Convention, being so crass as to use terms like “trotting out brown faces” and other racially charged statements to try to take away from the accomplishments of these men and women. Suggesting that they accomplished nothing, and that only through tokenism are they in the position to speak. Essentially suggesting that they “didn’t build that”. Really? That is the legacy you want for your party? If you are diverse and a success, but you don’t vote for my party, you only got to where you are because of “special favors”, not because of your abilities. That is pretty offensive.

The news we have been getting from the Democratic Party is dominated by language divisiveness and of meanness. Ok, let me say there are some jerks out there on the left and right. I think we all know that, and most of the people out there tend to try to filter out those on the far left and the far right. They are extreme views, and yet they can be jerks. But I think a party chairperson is selected for the purpose of being representative of that party. These aren’t accidental; there is some deliberation that goes into this selection. The individual selected by the Democrats is one of the meanest, nastiest people I have heard in a long while. This individual is so far to the fringe, she has been taken to task by CNN media for her views and citations. If you haven’t already seen this clip from CNN, check out this link of Debbie Wasserman’s view for a very interesting view as to why accurately quoting someone or telling the truth doesn’t matter. Really?! The types of appointments can tell you a lot about the person. What does this tell you about our current President and the administration? I have yet to hear this person say a kind word about anyone. And the same goes for a positive word – everything is negative.

Ultimately, I hope everyone makes informed decisions about candidates during something as important as a national election for our President. But there is a huge volume of how much a candidate represents me, which in the media speak of the day means how much the candidate seems to be like me. Go back and look at the qualities I listed at the top. Do those feel like qualities that represent you? I know that they resonate for me. My spouse and I are the children of immigrants. There are entrepreneurs and employees in our family. My own grandfather started as a janitor and studied chemistry books in the evening so he could learn enough to work his way up to a Plant Superintendent position so my family would have some of the opportunities that we have today. I hope that next generation has that sort of opportunity and our children exhibit those very qualities demonstrated by the speakers.

I would love to hear the stories of your families and positive influences they have had on you.

Leave Comment Here!

